Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Carter, Salhia & Jones Pick Up Major Hardware at LU Banquet

Media Release
Lakehead University Athletics Department
Thunderwolf Awards Presented With Pride and Fanfare
April 10, 2013 — Thunder Bay, ON
The Annual Athletics' Awards were presented yesterday in the Agora to best and bravest Thunderwolves of the 2012-13 season.

Athlete of the Year honors were given to Andrea Lee (Nordic Skiing) and Greg Carter (Basketball).

Lee skied to much success both at the Provincial (OUA) and National (CCUNC) levels, on top of representing Canada at the U23 Championships internationally.
Carter concludes his historic Lakehead career as the best defensive player of his era, having repeated this year as the CIS Defensive MVP, and achieving his 4th straight OUA Defensive MVP award. He is also the winningest Thunderwolf in Lakehead Basketball history, with 100 career wins.

Dylan Brown (Cross Country Running) took Male Rookie of the Year honors, having been the CIS Rookie of the Year and being an All-Canadian to boot.

Emma Horner (Wrestling) was named Female Rookie of the Year after a successful season, nabbing an OUA Bronze medal.

Joseph Jones (Basketball) finishes his illustrious career winning the Hank Akervall Award for his service to both to Lakehead University and the community of Thunder Bay.
Yoosrie Salhia (Basketball) was honored with the Argus Award for his career accomplishments, most notably being the rock upon which the current Lakehead Men's Basketball powerhouse was built. The current era (led by 6 graduating seniors) concluded with a CIS Silver medal.

All individual team awards are listed below.


Men's Basketball    
Rookie of the Year    Joe Hart (South Essex, Eng.)
Most Improved Player    Joseph Nitychoruk (Winnipeg, Man.)
Best Defensive Player    Greg Carter (Ottawa, Ont.)
Most Valuable Player    Ryan Thomson (Oakville, Ont.)
Most Valuable Player    Yoosrie Salhia (Toronto, Ont.)
Major Award Winners

Hank Akervall Award    Joseph Jones (Washington, DC)
Argus Award    Yoosrie Salhia (Toronto, Ont.)

Female Freshman of the Year    Emma Horner (St Joseph Island, Ont.)
Male Freshman of the Year    Dylan Brown (Newmarket, Ont.

Female Athlete of the Year    Andrea Lee (Black Creek, BC)
Male Athlete of the Year    Greg Carter (Ottawa, Ont.)

MEDIA:  For more information, or to request an interview, please contact Lakehead Sports Information Director, Hugh Mullally, at (807) 766-7157, or

No comments:

Post a Comment